Do You Understand the Words That Are Coming Out of My Mouth?

Do You Understand the Words That Are Coming Out of My Mouth?

First, let me warn you: this post is boring… I might even delete it at some point because it bores me so much to look at 🙂

Simple line divider

We have a super-special-challenging worker at one of our “remote locations” and I am sick of dealing with her… Below is why…

I paste for you, the email I received this morning from my “challenged” co-worker — a Supervisor at one of the “remote” offices who we have been having problems with since before I started this blog. (See: Ad Nauseum) This is the 5th time she has been told that she only has a $300 discretionary marketing budget. It has been said each time to her with those words exactly. Sometimes with more explanation behind it because she doesn’t seem to get it…

HER: How is the $500 for print marketing in our budget being used?

ME: That $500/month was set aside for … marketing that the Denver office would be doing for the separate locations — Properties that would be XXXXX Realty’s and then we would assign each “new listing” to an agent. Since Denver hasn’t used these funds for your office, go ahead and use the January $500 for your postcards. However, please continue to bear in mind that you do are not required to use the entire expense amounts that are budgeted to you. Those are just estimated amounts for what we might need. FYI – as of today, 1/28/2013, your location’s net loss for January is $4,700. There will be at least another $6,000 in expenses that will hit your January P/L before the month is completely processed (one more payroll, credit card expenses, rent, depreciation, etc…).

HER response: So we have the $500 per month for print marketing and the $300 discretionary budget dollars?

I am sick of telling this woman (the supervisor of that “remote” office) how to listen!
(“Do you understand the words that are coming out of my mouth!”)

This woman keeps pushing her limits to the extreme! The parts in red are what I actually sent. The parts in pink are the parts I wanted to send. Should I have sent the pink parts, too?

Not listeningME: No. As has been stated numerous times, you ONLY have $300 to use each month at your own discretion. My previous email stated:

That $500/month was set aside for … marketing that the Denver office would be doing for the separate locations… Since Denver hasn’t used the January funds for your office, go ahead and use that January $500 for these postcards…

I believe that I also stated that it is not a requirement to spend every single expense dollar we have earmarked for you. Just because the money is there doesn’t mean we have to spend it.

As of today, 1/28/2013, your location’s net loss for January is $4,700. There will be at least another $6,000 in expenses that will hit your January P/L before the month is completely processed (one more payroll, credit card expenses, rent, depreciation, etc…)

We are making a special exception for you, this one time, for this one specific instance.

 If this truly is that difficult to understand we could simply eliminate the discretionary budget altogether, and the Denver office can do all the marketing for all of the offices.

I just told her that her location has already lost $4,700 for the month of January 2013. And, with the month-end postings, that location will lose at least another $6,000. They have two properties that are scheduled to close — the absolute total possible additional commission income that location can earn by 1/31/2013 is $1,600.

1,600 – 4,700 – 6,000 = -(9,100)

I’m trying to tell her, “Damn, girlfriend!!! You have all year to single-handedly run this company into the ground. Why are you trying to do it all in January?” She is going to be $9,000 in the hole at the end of the month and all she can do is think about spending MORE money.

I know that accountants and salespeople do not get along. I have been in accounting my whole career and I have had to deal with my share of salespeople. So I came up with this plan:

Maybe the “remote locations” should have to submit a proposal for the advertising they want to do and THEN, if we approve it here in the Denver office (the “home office” — my boss here is the ultimate boss and I am the company’s ultimate staff accountant – LOL!) they can turn their proposal into reality… But, if we say “No” here at the Denver office — that’s the end of it.

Also, if we here at the “home office” want to do any advertising for the “remote location”, we have to submit a proposal for them. If they can submit a counter proposal that is better than ours, than we will do it their way. Otherwise it’s my way or the highway, baby!

Long Lonely Highway

2 thoughts on “Do You Understand the Words That Are Coming Out of My Mouth?

Talk to me :-)

