It’s Graduating Time!

It’s Graduating Time!

Thing #1 is graduating next Monday: 7 days from now.

That is not the part that blows my mind. I am ready for her being all grown up and for her to hit the ground running. What I am not ready for is that my parents and Mr. Doom-n-Gloom‘s parents will be coming out here to celebrate with us — all at the same time!

My parents and his parents do not get along. HIS parents are extreme left-wing “hippies” and MY parents are extreme right-wing “reactionists”. They have really only spoken a few times and both sides had choice words about the other after we separated, on all occasions.

Also, my parents know nothing about Mr. Doom-n-Gloom’s kidney disease and I haven’t told them about my dentures. You see, I don’t talk to my parents. I moved 1,000 miles away from them for a reason! They are super-hyper critical: I’ve never been good enough for them AND, they really didn’t want me to marry the man I married (now I wish I maybe had listened to them a little more about him).

My mother and I have a better relationship now that I live so far away. It seems that the actual physical distance has helped her learn to distance herself emotionally, too. But, my father hasn’t really spoken more than a few words to me since I moved here 5.5 years ago.

My parents get here Friday afternoon and his parents get here sometime on Saturday. I know nothing about what his parents have planned or what the husband has planned for them. The last time I asked him if he had any plans for the weekend, he said “My parents are adults, they can figure out what they want to do.” After that lovely and hospitable response, I stopped asking him what their plans were. But, it’s coming down to the wire now and I still don’t know what he’s doing for Mother’s Day or how they are planning on getting to graduation next Monday evening!

I am pretty upset at his reticence about this whole deal. Why can’t he just tell me what’s going on? It’s not like I am asking him to DO anything!! Just communicate with me, muther-fucker! I don’t give a flying fuck that he is being a bad host to his parents, THEY are the ones who raised him to be that way… But, I do give a shit that he is treating me like this. Maybe *I* have something planned that I have been trying to tell him about but he won’t listen… He didn’t even know that next Sunday was Mother’s Day until I told him 4 times and MADE him repeat the words to me!

I am afraid that Mr. Doom-n-Gloom and his highness’s douche-y-ness will spoil any fun that could be had. And this weekend is really supposed to be about my oldest daughter. I hope that I am seeing the worst case scenario here… Maybe he can be a better person and put his butt-hurt-15-year-old-teenage-girl-self away for 4 goddamn days!!!

We’ll see…

7 thoughts on “It’s Graduating Time!

Talk to me :-)

