They’re Just Words So Why Are They So Important?

They’re Just Words So Why Are They So Important?

Sometimes it’s very, very hard not being able to say, “I love you”

I know we show each other all the time, but sometimes I want to say it so badly it brings tears to my eyes.

I don’t know what it is about those three words that moves me — they’re just words. I am forever saying how I can make up a bunch of words to say things that aren’t true – they’re just words. I am always telling myself and my daughters how “actions speak louder than words”. Constantly I inundate myself with motivational quotes about how goodness begets goodness, etc…

So, why are those three words such an emotional trigger for me?

Maybe it’s because I’m PMS-y right now; maybe it’s because my bitch-face co-worker keeps acting like my 15-year-old daughter-on-the-rampage (or Mr. Doom-n-Gloom); maybe it’s because I just miss my sexy Loverman today (but you just saw him this morning).

Who knows?

11 thoughts on “They’re Just Words So Why Are They So Important?

    1. Thank you for the validation 🙂
      I shouldn’t whine. Since he bought (financed) that stupid broken truck, I have been seeing him between 4 and 5 days a week and that is definitely WAY better than hearing the words, “I love you” spoken over the phone. I would take a kiss (and a grope) over words any day. There are just some days that I really, really, really want to say it to him (in case he forgets 😉 You know?)

    1. When we first started our ‘thing’, I already had some pretty strong feelings for Loverman — I was drawn to him like a magnet even before I knew him… But, I also told him that I never wanted to be married again, especially to him, because I don’t want to ruin the wonderfulness that we have.

      So, I kind of made the rule (and he agreed) that we sh/couldn’t say “I love you” and I think that, ultimately, it just made us love each other more… Maybe subconsciously I wanted it to happen that way 😉 We have said it to each other before; sometimes on accident, sometimes on purpose. There are just some days that I want to say it to him over and over and over and over because, the longer I spend with him, the more I love him. I don’t think I could even say it enough times to equal the amount of it that I feel for him…

    1. And if you say them all the time, they totally become meaningless…
      I had that talk with a co-worker of mine yesterday because she throws compliments around willy-nilly. So much that I can’t even tell when she means it or when she’s just saying it to shut me up 🙂

Talk to me :-)

