Word of the Day: Catalyst

Word of the Day: Catalyst

cat·a·lyst

[kat-l-ist]

noun

  1. Chemistry . a substance that causes or accelerates a chemical reaction without itself being affected.
  2. Something that causes activity between two or more persons or forces without itself being affected.
  3. A person or thing that precipitates an event or change
  4. A person whose talk, enthusiasm, or energy causes others to be more friendly, enthusiastic, or energetic.

Word Origin & History

catalyst – 1902, formed in Eng. (on analogy of analyst) from Gk. kata “down” + -lysis “a loosening” (comb. form).

LineSeparator

Loverman has been a great catalyst for me (see definition #3 above). I know that we have rough times and I complain about feeling alone and abandoned by him, but also I know that we have a “special” relationship. One that requires more patience and understanding. One where I have to understand that, even though it seems like I am always “coming in last”, really Loverman is “saving the best for last” (and I AM the best!!)!

I have confusing emotions tearing through my insides when it comes to my relationship with Loverman — emotions that I cannot explain or justify, they’re just there and I have to learn to process them. I have to learn to rationalize my fears and frustrations and communicate them to my most intimate friend. I have to trust that telling him my scariest, most overwhelming feelings will also act as a catalyst in our relationship. It might help him be able to express his most scariest and overwhelming feelings to me, too.

My move to Colorado was a catalyst (see definition #2 — although I think we may have actually “affected” the state of Colorado 😉 ) Coming here was the catalyst that brought Loverman and I together and, for that, I will be forever grateful! (He moved here, too, about 7 years before me.)

Both meeting Loverman and moving to Denver, are the catalysts that helped me break out of my invisible shell (I say “invisible” because I didn’t know it was there). I have learned that I love myself very much. I also learned that wasn’t truly myself before. I used to worry so much about whether my parents thought I was doing the right thing, or if it was something Mr. Doom-n-Gloom would like.

Now, I worry about what *I* like and what *I* think about myself because eventually I realized that it isn’t what I have on the outside or what other people think of me that makes me wonderful, it’s what I have on the inside — and I love my inside! Finally!

Has there been a catalyst in your life? Do you need one?

Carla Higgs and the Bosons presents: Catalyst by anqila
Carla Higgs and the Bosons presents: Catalyst
by anqila
3 thoughts on “Word of the Day: Catalyst

Talk to me :-)

