I’m Just a Mom: Going to the Hospital

I’m Just a Mom: Going to the Hospital

Sunday afternoon, Thing #1 started having a pain in her lower, right abdomen.

She told me about it Monday afternoon. We talked about it Monday evening and Googled her symptoms.

It seemed like she had appendicitis, from where the pain was located, and how the pain was acting. But she didn’t have a fever and she wasn’t throwing up and she didn’t have diarrhea.

We decided to wait through the night and see if things got worse.

There was no change, so Thing #1 decided to stay home Tuesday and see… When I got home from work Tuesday night, still nothing had changed.

Her pain level was the same and still there was no fever, vomiting or diarrhea.

I didn’t want it to get worse and Thing #1 has a very high pain tolerance, so I decided to take her to the Emergency Room rather than have some type of “rupture incident”.

We got there at about 6:45 and we were brought to a room around 8PM. They had to do a CAT scan on her to see if it was appendicitis and found out that it is a cyst on her ovary.

There’s nothing they can do about it, she will just have to be in pain until it goes away.

Today she is supposed to call the Gynecologist to make an appointment so she can get some medicine for the pain (she said it was manageable on Tuesday, but she’s staying home from school today because it hurts so bad) and learn more about the cyst — she may have to get an ultrasound to see how big it is or if it’s really bad.

This morning she just cried on my shoulder and needed hugs. I wish she would have asked for a prescription to relieve her pain when we were in the ER, but it wasn’t this bad on Tuesday I guess.

She said, “I wish this was just appendicitis because this would all be over and I would be getting better. Now I don’t know how long I will have to wait to feel good.”

I’m sad that she’s hurting so much, but I am glad that it’s nothing worse.

Woman in Pain

2 thoughts on “I’m Just a Mom: Going to the Hospital

Talk to me :-)

