Aside

Published Author

One morning a while back, I was walking through the parking garage at work and was accosted by a woman (a stranger, might I add) who absolutely HAD to tell me that she was in the middle of publishing a book!

OMG!

Of poems, no less!!

OM*F*G!!

Granted, I’ve never read her work, but I acted enthused because I assumed that was the response that she was going for by telling a stranger such information, upon first meeting, before introduction.

She is working with a division of Random House Publishing (oooh – BFD. You can practically see me swooning in amazement!). When I asked her: “who discovered you, because that must’ve felt really awesome?” she explained that it was a private division of Random House where you just send in the material, you pay and they publish it!

Ummm… Again with the OMFG!!!

Except…

With her seeming interpretation of what makes a ‘published author’, aren’t all of us exactly that?!

It seems that we write the material and then we self-publish it… (as she is)

On the world-wide-web… (for free!)

Where search engines catalog “key words” and “tags” so others can find our words more easily… (unlike Libraries and Bookstores)

In fact, I expect that more people will read my blog and my words than will ever even know about her book of poetry.

Should I tell her about this wonderful thing called blogging?

4 thoughts on “Published Author

  1. Yes, but unless you’re getting ad revenue she’ll probably make more money. 😉

    Of course, she’ll probably never make back what it cost her… She should have just gone on Amazon and published it for free, that way she might actually make a profit.

Talk to me :-)

