My “New” Car

My “New” Car

I’ve decided to name him “Lil Bear”. (I miss my big Bear SO MUCH!)

It took 4 weeks to figure it out, but that’s what I decided.

He’s a little ’99 Subaru Legend GT Sedan with 150,000 miles, rebuilt from salvage.

LilBear

I got a great deal!!

One of my dearest friends helped me until I found the perfect car.

There’s even a Minnesota bumper sticker on the back! When I saw that, I was sure Lil Bear was meant to be mine.

However, when I bought it, there was a noise in the transmission. The gentleman at the shop wrote a contract that stated he would rebuild the transmission for me when I was ready. He also wrote in a 12,000-mile/3-month warranty for anything else that might go wrong with it.

Last week I was ready, so Lil Bear spent the week in the shop getting his transmission rebuilt. I was reassured, when I picked him up Thursday morning, that he was in perfect working order and would be able to drive me to Phoenix “no problem”.

Well, Saturday afternoon, on my way to the skating rink to hang with my crew and practice, the water pump blew. *sigh*

WTF?!?! Good thing I still have Breezy: my Mr-Reliable-drove-me-from-MN-8-years-ago car!!!

So… Monday I had to drop off Lil Bear’s key at the shop where here came from so he can get a new water pump.

If only you knew the nightmare that Breezy’s water pump caused me…

It went out a year after we got to Colorado, and after the actual shop fucked him up worse than he was when he first broke, it took Loserman 4 years and 2 engines before he was fixed again and I could have my Breezy back.

Lil Bear is supposed to reliably get me to Phoenix this coming weekend, just like Breezy did last February. Now I’m a bit nervous…

Breezy needs a new driver’s side control arm before I can drive him any more long distances, and that’s going to cost me actual money.

This work on Lil Bear is all covered under the warranty.

Otherwise I would just take Breezy…

6 thoughts on “My “New” Car

Talk to me :-)

