Memories and Instant Karma – Together at Last

Memories and Instant Karma – Together at Last

Wednesday was Loserman’s birthday.

It isn’t something that I can easily forget because it’s the day after my mother’s.

It was the first thing that popped into my head when I woke up that morning.

Not anything at all about the lovely date I had the previous evening with one of the Craig’s List gentlemen…

Nope, my brain went straight to Loserman.

To be fair, for the past 7 years, it is technically the first birthday of his that we haven’t been “together”.

So, I had the brilliant idea of sending him a text message to wish him a happy birthday (my brain still has his number memorized – he’s been deleted from my phone). My rationalization was that, hearing from me (of all people) so early in the morning would start his day off really super crappy.

It was my expectation that he wouldn’t respond at all and I could add that to my pile of reasons…

That whole idea totally backfired, of course.

He responded almost immediately, using my name so I would know he was aware exactly who the message came from.

“Thanks Smitten. I hope you have a great day too.”

Guess who’s day ended up being crappy…

Karma

 

8 thoughts on “Memories and Instant Karma – Together at Last

  1. I’m sorry it resulted in you having a crappy day. And I don’t believe you sent him a birthday message to make his day start off badly. I think you are just a genuinely nice person who will always remember the important days of those who have been meaningful in your life. Yes, loserman is a loser, yes , you deserve so much better than him, but I don’t think it’s a bad thing that you wished him well on his birthday. I’m just sorry it negatively impacted your day 😦

    1. You’re so sweet to say such a thing, but I truly did it with malice in my heart and the hope he wouldn’t respond so I could be reminded why he’s loserman.

      Thank you, Sassy! I am glad that he took it the right way, though! 🙂

  2. I’m so sorry you ended up feeling crappy. However, if one keeps reaching in the trash can one can only bring out trash in their hands… Let him go, all the way go! {{{Hugs}}}

    1. Thank you always for your honest and loving reminders! You’re right and I am getting closer every day. I hardly mention him at all any more, let alone write a post about him! XOXO

Talk to me :-)

