Word of the Day: Chivalry

Word of the Day: Chivalry

Chivalry

I like it when a man opens doors for me or offers to take my bag/s.

Now.

But, when I was younger, it used to irritate the hell out of me.

I wanted to prove that I could do it myself!

I wanted to show that I could be independent!

Probably because, throughout my childhood, my parents made all of my decisions for me.

Once I “grew up” and moved out of my parents’ home, I truly wanted to be able to prove that I could do everything for myself.

At one point maybe Doom-n-Gloom liked to open doors for me or carry my bags; maybe I just didn’t let him because I was stubbornly proving I could do it myself! And eventually, he just stopped…

Maybe…

But, I’m not like that now.

Now

I will gladly let a man slip in front of me so he can open the door.

He can pull out my chair before I am seated.

He can hold my jacket and help me get into my sleeves.

I will let him walk on the street side when we are on the sidewalk.

And

I will let him help me carry my bag/s, even when I can do it all by myself.

Chivalry2

Chivalry3

Chivalry4

3 thoughts on “Word of the Day: Chivalry

Talk to me :-)

