Chat

Everything Must End (aka This Cannot Possibly Last Forever)

Everything is a Dichotomy by Ratta
Everything is a Dichotomy
by Ratta

When I was a teenager I had a mantra to help get me through things that I wasn’t enjoying (mostly church). I would sit next to my parents on that stupid wooden pew and, in my head, I would chant:

This cannot possibly last forever, nothing lasts forever. This cannot possibly last forever, nothing lasts forever.

Isn’t it funny how I can tell myself that in a negative sense and it brings me peace, but when I’m in a happy place and use those same exact words they only make my heart ache?

How does one find balance in the dischord?

Excerpt taken from “Samsara” on Om Swami.

Whenever you are down or disturbed, whenever you feel lost or low, just touch your heart and tell yourself that this time will pass. That suffering too is a part of life. It’s one of the seasons. Knock on your heart with a gentle touch of your hand and say that this trying time won’t stay forever.

Whenever you are over the moon or think you have the best life, tap your heart again and remind yourself that this time won’t last either. This too is one of the fleeting seasons. It has a strange but positive effect on your peace of mind. You feel more centered and grounded.

In the fullness of time, the present moment must make way for the next present moment. The present must yield to the future. This ceaseless play of moments emerging and passing is what gives beauty to the unpredictability of our lives. It’s beyond comprehension or control. At the best, you can live it, love it and rejoice in it. Gratefully. This is the path of peace. And peace, I may add, is the only real treasure. The rest are temporary acquisitions.

Peace.
Swami

6 thoughts on “Everything Must End (aka This Cannot Possibly Last Forever)

  1. Nice post and so true! Every moment must end, but in a way that’s so much better. The bad moments will pass away, but so will the good moments. Enjoy life while it’s there, don’t wait for it to be a happy memory.

Talk to me :-)

