Chat

Somewhat Stripped: Sexy Sundays

from Girltalk HQ
from Girltalk HQ

I received a nice note from a gentleman who reads my blog. In it he suggested I might be suffering from a rare, but debilitating disease called:

Mirror-o-blindopia

Apparently, that is something that only affects a person when they look directly into a mirror 😉

Clearly, I have a body image problem.

He also suggested that maybe I start actually believing people when they compliment me. Then, when I look at myself in that mirror, apply all those compliments to myself. (Easier said than done, but a great idea! I’m going to try it!)

KittySeesLion

So beginning tomorrow, as an experiment to help me improve the way I see myself and who I am on the outside, I am going to start a series of password-protected Sunday posts where I expose myself to you (aka: “somewhat strip”).

The password for said posts will be my real life first name: I have let it slip out a couple of times here and on Instagram; a few of you have emailed me and I’ve responded with it…

However, if you don’t know and you want to, please shoot me an email at smittenwithhim@gmail.com with “Sexy Sunday” as your subject, and I will decide whether or not I want to tell you 😉

Most pictures will be fairly modest and not much more than you have already seen of me here, but I will no longer be hiding my face from you.

AcceptYourBody

Thank you all for your support and encouragement – before, now and after!!!

8 thoughts on “Somewhat Stripped: Sexy Sundays

  1. One of the things my therapist had me doing was complimenting myself. It had to be specific, and I had to try and come up with something different every single day. Also, it had to be said looking at myself in a mirror. Every single day. It sounds silly, really silly, but it was surprisingly effective. If I could find something positive to say about myself, that was one less negative thought I was having. When the negative thoughts came, I clung to my tiny little positive thought.

    1. Thanks, Janelle! You are sooo right!! I’ve had a couple other blogger friends tell me the same thing. Some days it’s easy, other days all I see is the flab-monster.

  2. Hey Smitten,

    Whoever told you that sounds like a very wise guy. :)) It is great that you are taking his suggestion!

    I am sure anyone who sees you will find you nothing short of amazing!

Talk to me :-)

