Aside

Close Encounters

How many times in our lives does The Universe save our asses and we don’t even realize we’ve been saved?

guardianangel

The other morning on my way to work, I was totally spaced out when the light turned green. So, I didn’t go right away.

Eventually, when I realized it was time to go and pressed down on the gas pedal, a woman barreled through her red light in a fairly large pick-up, almost broadsiding the crap out of me (and Lil Bear!!)!!

There was plenty of traffic at that intersection, and a utility truck patiently waiting for me to go so he could turn left.

I honked the hell out of my horn at her and the driver didn’t even look over at me. She didn’t even slow down!!

I drove for a little while before the realization hit me – hard.

If I had gone when I should have,

I could have been smooshed into oblivion!!

But I wasn’t.

For some reason I spaced out instead of seeing my light turn green.

A wave of gratitude flooded over my entire being.

So much so, that tears burst from my eyes and I could feel relief covered me like a blanket.

I took over a minute to express much gratitude to the powers-that-be. (I’m still thanking ‘them’ now)

It just so happened that day was also my birthday.

To the Universe or my Guardian Angel or whatever it was that kept me from moving forward:

Thank you for watching out for me when I don’t know any better!

12 thoughts on “Close Encounters

  1. I’m so glad you were spacey that day instead of being in a rush. Someone was surely with you and protecting you. Happy belated birthday!!!

  2. One of your comments was in spam on my blog… I approved it and then now I can’t find it to respond… So just wanted to say I am not ignoring 😀

    Glad you were OK here

Talk to me :-)

